Be Internet Smart
  • Safety - Kids/Teenagers
  • Safety - General
  • Hoaxes
  • Tips/Virus Info
  • Definitions

Internet Safety - Kids/Teenagers

Be Smart, Be Safe! http://cheyenne.edmondschools.net/media-center/general_library/internet-safety/
Bullying - Awareness & Prevention Understanding the Bullying Trend and Discovering New Ways to Combat It
This page also has a section on Cyberbullying.
http://www.learnpsychology.org/now/bullying/
Bullying in the U.S. Rates, Tips, and Resources
https://usinsuranceagents.com/rates-tips-resources-bullying
Childnet.com A non-profit organization working with others to help make the internet a great and safe place for children.
http://www.childnet.com
Cyberbullying The New Online Crime
http://www.grabellaw.com/cyberbullying-the-new-online-crime.html
Cyberbullying Resources Online http://www.whoishostingthis.com/resources/cyberbullying-resources/
Cyber Security for your Teenager http://www.apexcctv.com/articles/cyber-security-for-your-teenager.html
The Essential Teen Internet Safety Guide http://www.usdish.com/teen-internet-safety
Facebook for Parents http://facebookforparents.org
The Family Guide to Online Safety To assist computer users in learning more about the potential dangers of online usage, this is a collection of resources.
http://www.vodien.com/singapore-community/security-2/family-guide-online-safety.php
Internet Safety 101 (Enough is Enough) Making the Internet Safer for Children and families
http://www.internetsafety101.org/
Internet Survival Tips for Kids and Teens Internet safety skills are as vital as the ABCs. Foster safe, responsible online behavior and avoid online threats like cyberbullying, unwelcome contact, and digital drama.
http://www.commonsensemedia.org/advice-for-parents/internet-safety-and-privacy
Internet Safety Tips for Kids and Adults http://safestars.org/internet-safety/
KidSafe.com The Ultimate Parenting Resource Website
http://kidsafe.com/
Online Predators and Their Victims http://www.apa.org/pubs/journals/releases/amp-632111.pdf
Online Teen Safety Guide https://www.staysafe.org/teens/
SafeKids.com Online Safety & Civility
http://www.safekids.com/
Safe Search Kids https://www.safesearchkids.com/
SafeSurfingKids.com http://www.safesurfingkids.com/
Stop Cyberbullying http://www.stopcyberbullying.org/index2.html
Virtual Predators The Importance of Teaching Internet Safety
http://www.qualityansweringservice.com/resources/virtual-predators-importance-teaching-internet-safety

Internet Safety - General

Computer Safety Tips 9 Steps to Protecting Your Computer from Viruses and Other Malware
http://antivirus.about.com/od/securitytips/a/safetytips.htm
Cyber Security Tips http://msisac.cisecurity.org/newsletter/
Four Methods to Create a Secure Password You'll Actually Remember http://lifehacker.com/four-methods-to-create-a-secure-password-youll-actually-1601854240
How Older Adults Can Stay Safe When Dating Online http://money.usnews.com/money/blogs/alpha-consumer/2015/06/22/how-older-adults-can-stay-safe-when-dating-online
A How-to Guide for Having “The Talk” with Your Elderly Parents … about Internet Safety https://www.idshield.com/blog/how-guide-having-%E2%80%9C-talk%E2%80%9D-your-elderly-parents-%E2%80%A6-about-internet-safety
How to protect your cards and accounts online https://www.creditcards.com/credit-card-news/online-card-protection-guide.php
Internet Safety Resources http://www.txssc.txstate.edu/K12/internet-safety
Privacy, Identity & Online Security https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/topics/privacy-identity-online-security
Online Safety Resource Guide - Review Lab http://www.reviewlab.com/online-safety-guide/
Protecting Yourself From Online Scams https://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=content.view&cpid=313
Quick Guide to Safe Online Shopping http://www.whoishostingthis.com/blog/2016/11/30/safe-online-shopping/
Social Media And Cyber Security https://www.safety.com/social-media-safety-what-should-you-avoid-posting/
Stay Safe Online Helping to make the internet safer and more secure for everyone.
https://staysafeonline.org/
Stop. Think. Connect. This is a Dept of Homeland Security (DHS) campaign for national public awareness aimed at increasing the understanding of cyber threats and empowering the American public to be safer and more secure online.
http://www.dhs.gov/stopthinkconnect
Top Online Scams Used by Cyber Criminals to Trick You https://heimdalsecurity.com/blog/top-online-scams/
Ultimate Online Shopping Safety: The Consumer’s How-To Guide http://www.retailmenot.com/blog/ultimate-online-shopping-safety-and-security-tips.html

Internet Hoaxes

Hoax Busters The BIG LIST of Internet Hoaxes
http://www.hoaxbusters.org/
Latest Email Hoaxes Current Internet Scams
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/
Report SPAM to FTC for more information go to:
http://www.ftc.gov/spam/
Forward SPAM to: spam@uce.gov
Truth or Fiction your Email Reality Check
http://www.truthorfiction.com/

Internet Tips/Virus Info

Avoiding Social Engineering and Phishing Attacks US Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT)
https://www.us-cert.gov/ncas/tips/ST04-014
Cyber Security Tips US Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT)
http://www.us-cert.gov/cas/tips/
McAfee Virus information
http://home.mcafee.com/virusinfo/
Symantec Viruses & Risks
http://us.norton.com/security_response/index.jsp
ZDNet.com Stay Safe Online: 5 secrets every PC (and Mac) owner should know


You have a suggested website to add
or
Discover a bad link on this website?
Send it to:
update@beinternetsmart.com